The Dreamer by E.J. Mellow (Dreamland series #1)

Introduction

I was chosen to review the 3 books+1 Novella in regards to the third book, The Destined coming out this October. This was such a great read and if you have read it, tell me your thoughts!

the dreamer cover

Synopsis:

It’s night. Always night. Dreams guard against the evil forged by nightmares. Infinite shooting stars illuminate a moonless sky. A city stands alone, surrounded by a darkened field. On its fringes, a man watches one star separate from the masses and fall. What survives the crash will unveil a secret centuries long hidden.

Molly hasn’t slept well since the night of her twenty-fourth birthday. Being struck by lightning might have something to do with it, but then again, her chicken did look a little undercooked at dinner. Whatever the culprit, her life quickly catapults from mundane to insane as, night after night, Molly is transported through her once dreamless sleep to a mysterious land illuminated by shooting stars.

There she meets the captivating but frustrating Dev, and together they discover Molly possesses a power coveted by his people—the ability to conjure almost anything she desires into existence. Seduced by the possibilities of this gift, Molly shifts her attention from waking life toward the man, the magic, and the world found in her dreams.

But Molly must ask herself—does something truly exist if you only see it when you close your eyes?

Faced with the threat of losing everything—her job, best friend, boyfriend, and most importantly, that little thing called her sanity—Molly will learn just how far she’ll go to uncover what is real and what is merely a figment of her imagination.

Credits to: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30633674-the-dreamer?ac=1&from_search=true

1466333439115-1.jpg

Date Started: June 17,2016

Date Finished: July 17, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

About the Book:

Published June 2016 by Four Eyed Owl (first published May 14th 2015)

341 pages

Genre: Fantasy, New Adult, Romance, Fiction

THE DREAMER has been awarded a Silver for Best Fantasy/Science Fiction from the eLit Book Awards & a Finalist medal for Best Cover Design from the Next Generation Indie Book Awards.

About the Author:

author drmE.J. Mellow is the Award Winning Author behind the NA Contemporary Fantasy, The Dreamland Series. When she’s not busy moonlighting in the realm of make-believe, she can be found doodling, buried in a book (usually this one), or playing video games. Residing in New York City, E.J. is a member of Romance Writers of America and is currently working on the third book in her trilogy.

You can find her on:
Instagram – https://instagram.com/ejmellow
Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/ejmellow
Twitter – https://twitter.com/EJ_MELLOW

wp-image-335936529jpg.jpeg

5 stars

A digital copy was provided in exchange for an honest review. That, however, does not affect my review in any other ways.

What will you do if you find yourself dreaming every night only to find out it’s real?!

Okay, I will admit it. This is a slow read. But the reason has nothing to do with the story. It has to do with the format and school responsibilities. Whenever I read eBooks, I just feel bored. It took me lots of conviction to finally finish the book.

Anyways, onto the plot. I find the plot interesting. I mean, it’s about dreams! I saw some reviews of The Dreamer in goodreads and it seems like this is not the only book about dreams in the world! But this is my first time reading one so I thank E.J. for letting me join the journey.

What makes the plot more interesting? The writing style. I tell you, the reason why the book does not disappoint, is because of how the author explains the details. And for this book, I think E.J. did a satisfying job. E.J. brings you to a world nothing but dreams, including the hottie called Dev *wink* *wink*.

The cover really deserves the award. Once you get the attention of the reader by just the cover and your summary intrigues them, they’ll purchase it; which I think E.J. did a pretty good job. I am privileged to be chosen wherein I purchase nothing.

I liked how the book ends. It gives you a satisfying grin and a desire to read the next book. Unfortunately for people like me, sometimes I get hangovers at how good a book is that it takes me forever to read the next one.

Okay, so I think that is it. After I read my current eBook read, Oleah Chronicles:Justice by Michelle Johnson, I will dive into the next book. Stay tuned for the review! Thanks for reading! Happy Reading bookworms ❤

 

wp-image-285682633jpg.jpeg

 

 

Leave a Reply

